Skip to content

The board of trustees

The trustees are responsible for the day-to-day running of Allchurches Trust (ATL).  They usually meet five times a year to consider applications, decide where grants will be distributed and ensure we are fulfilling our charitable objectives.  The board of trustees is made up of a diverse group of experienced professionals who have many other roles and who bring specialist knowledge that helps us assess projects. 

In accordance with good practice in the charity sector, two of our trustees also serve on the boards of Ecclesiastical Insurance Group plc (EIG) and its subsidiary Ecclesiastical Insurance Office plc (EIO) with appropriate arrangements in place to manage any conflicts of interest.  The fact that an applicant has an insurance agreement with EIG or any of its subsidiaries is not known to the trustees when they make decisions on grants.

The trustees are responsible for the day to day running of ATL and are accountable to ATL’s members.

  • Sir Philip Mawer

    Sir Philip Mawer

    Sir Philip has been Chairman of ATL since July 2013. Before this he was Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director of Ecclesiastical Insurance Group, owned by ATL.

    Formerly Secretary General of the Church of England’s General Synod and of the Archbishops’ Council, his roles have included Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards (2002-2007) and the Prime Minister’s Independent Advisor on Ministers’ Interests (2008-2011). He has also been patron or trustee of a number of charities.

  • Michael Arlington

    Michael Arlington

    Appointed to the board in September 2014. He is Chair of Finance and member of Southwell and Nottingham Diocese Bishops Council (2003 to present) and member of the Diocesan Board of Education (2004 to present). He is Vice Chairman of Archbishops Council Finance Committee, Chairman of the Investment Committee and member of the Archbishops' Simplification Task Group. He is Lay Canon at Southwell Minister and a Fellow of the Royal Agricultural Society.

    Formerly a partner with Deloitte and director and Chairman of several food businesses. His three UK dairy farms produce over 7 million litres of milk, mostly for Stilton cheese.

    He is Chairman of Keframa actively raising £500,000 to build and operate a secondary school in Northern Uganda.

  • Tim Carroll

    Tim Carroll

    Appointed to the board in 2016, Tim is also a Director of EIG plc and EIO plc, appointed in March 2013.  He is an international business leader with significant London Market and Lloyd's experience, including roles as CEO of Swiss Re's UK holding company, CEO Europe of GE Insurance Solutions, President and CEO of GE Reinsurance Inc in the USA and Active Underwriter of Canopius Syndicate 4444 at Lloyd's. 

    He has held a number of industry positions, including Chairman of the International Underwriting Association and President of the Insurance Institute of London. 

  • The Venerable Annette Cooper

    The Venerable Annette Cooper

    Appointed to the board in 2008, she serves as a member of the Nominations Committee.

    Annette is Archdeacon of Colchester in the Diocese of Chelmsford where she is a Director of the Board of Finance and a member of the Bishop's Council and Finance Executive. She served as an elected member of the Bishop's Council and Finance Executive. She served as an elected member of the General Synod from 2000 to 2015, also serving on the Archbishops' Appointments Committee and the Archbishops' Council Finance Committee.

    Currently she is an elected Regional Representative of the House of Bishops. She serves on the Archbishops' Independent Safeguarding Panel and the Bishops' Development & Appointments Group. She is trustee or patron of several charities. Prior to ordination she was a local authority social worker and maintains a keen interest in safeguarding issues.

  • Jane Hedges

    Very Revd Jane Hedges

    Jane is Dean of Norwich, where she leads the life of the Cathedral and is a member of the Bishop’s Senior Staff Team and Chair of Chapter. She is also a Trustee or Patron of a number of local charities and organisations. In 2006 Jane was appointed the first woman Canon Steward at Westminster Abbey and Archdeacon of Westminster. She was also the first woman to be appointed a Residentiary Canon in the Church of England, serving as Canon Pastor at Portsmouth Cathedral. 

    Jane was educated at Durham University and Cranmer Hall, Durham and has an Honorary Doctorate from Portsmouth University. She will join Allchurches Trust as a Trustee from 17 October 2017. 

    Jane Hedges is married to Chris and they have two sons, Jonathan and Adam. Her interests include travelling, sport, walking, animal welfare and entertaining. 

  • Stephen Hudson

    Stephen Hudson

    Stephen was appointed to the ATL board in January 2016 having worked within the charity sector for nearly 30 years.  He is a Chartered Accountant and currently serves as the Finance Director and Secretary of the Investment and Audit Committee of the Coal Industry Social Welfare Organisation, a large national charity working in the former coal communities in the UK. 

    He acts as Independent Examiner for a number of charities.  Prior to his work in the charities sector he was Head of Finance for a trade union and trained and worked in auditing for KPMG.

  • Sir Laurie Magnus

    Sir Laurie Magnus

    Sir Laurie Magnus is a senior adviser at Evercore Partners. He has over 35 years of experience in the corporate finance advisory business, initially at Samuel Montagu & Co Limited (subsequently HSBC Investment Bank) and then successively at Phoenix Securities, Donaldson Lufkin & Jenrette, Credit Suisse First Boston and Lexicon Partners (latterly as Chairman before it merged with Evercore Partners in 2011).

    He is Chairman of JP Morgan Income & Capital Trust plc and a Non-Executive Director of Pantheon International Participations plc, Fidelity Japanese Values plc, The Cayenne Trust plc, Forestry Investment Management Limited and Aggregated Micro-Power plc.

    In the not for profit sector, he is Chairman of Historic England (formerly known as English Heritage), Chairman of Windsor Leadership Trust and a Trustee of the Landmark Trust, the English Heritage Trust and Allchurches Trust.

  • Christopher Smith

    Christopher Smith

    Appointed to the Board in 2010, he is Deputy Chairman of ATL, Chairman of the Investment Sub Committee and a Member of the Nominations Committee.

    He is currently Non Executive Chairman of Law Debenture Corporation plc, of CG Asset Management Limited and a Trustee of two other charities. Previously he was a partner of Cazenove & Co. for 19 years and a Managing Director, Corporate Finance of J.P. Morgan Cazenove.

  • Denise Wilson

    Denise Wilson OBE

    Denise has been on ATL’s board since 2010 and is also a Non-Executive Director of EIG plc and EIO plc. She is currently Chairman of the Royal Academy of Arts Friends Board and Chief Exec. for the Davies Review on Women on Boards.

    In a prior Executive capacity, at National Grid and previously BG Group and British Gas, she served in many senior roles including Commercial and Customer Director, Global Transformation Director, Head of Investor Relations and Global Audit Director, starting her career in insurance with RSA.

    Allchurches strapline

    Get in touch:

    01452 873189

    or email

    Registered Office: Allchurches Trust Limited, Beaufort House, Brunswick Road, Gloucester GL1 1JZ. Tel: 01452 873189. The named company above is registered in England No. 1043742 Registered Charity number: 263960